ATTACHMENT 9

SUMMARY OF COMMUNITY DESIGN COMMISSION ACTION

Subject: Application for Chapel Watch Village Special Use Permit, Planned

Development - Housing Application

Meeting Date: April 18, 2007

Recommendation: That the Council approves a Special Use Permit, Planned Development-

Housing for Chapel Watch Village with the adoption of of Resolution A, as attached to the Staff Report dated April 18, 2007 with the following

changes:

1. <u>Raised Pedestrian Crosswalk</u> That the portion of the internal street between Eubanks Road and the Larkspur neighborhood, beyond the southernmost units, include at least one raised pedestrian crosswalk/speed table.

- 2. <u>Traffic Impact Analysis and Safety Analysis</u>: That within 24 months of the opening of the roadway, the Town conduct a Traffic Impact Analysis and Safety Analysis for the Larkspur Subdivision and Chapel Watch Village to determine whether the connection should remain open or closed to local traffic.
- 3. <u>Road Signage</u>: That signage be posted on Maywood Way and on the Chapel Watch Village connection to Maywood Way, if the connection is open to vehicles, stating that no thru commercial traffic is permitted and that at least one stop sign be posted at the 3-way intersection in Chapel Watch Village.
- 4. <u>Maintenance of the Horace William Trail (aka Rails to Trails)</u>: That the proposed greenway trail, between Eubanks Road and Larkspur shall be maintained by the Town.
- 5. Recreation space requirements: That because the applicant is not willing to maintain the greenway, the square footage of the greenway that may be credited towards satisfying the applicant's recreation space requirements shall be reduced by 50%.

Vote: 9 - 1



Ayes: Mark Broadwell, Mary Margaret Carroll, George Cianciolo, Chris Culbreth, Kathryn James, Ade McGregor, Laura King Moore, Glenn Parks, Jonathan Whitney.

Nay: Amy Ryan

Reasons for Denial:

• There is no benefit to either neighborhood for vehicular connectivity between the two neighborhoods.

Prepared by: Jonathan Whitney, Chair

Kay Pearlstein, Planning Staff