

Office of the Mayor **PROCLAMATION**

WHEREAS, Bill Thorpe served the Town of Chapel Hill as a Town Council Member for 11 years: 1977-1981, 1983-1987, 1985-1987 (Mayor Pro Tem), and 2005-2008; and

WHEREAS, Bill served our community for more than thirty years and therefore his perspective on our recent history, and his insistence on remembering where we have been as a guide to where we should go, has been invaluable to Chapel Hill; and

WHEREAS, Bill was a dedicated and loving husband and father to his wife, Jean, and hvo children, William and Beverly; and

WHEREAS, Bill spent many long hours serving as an active member of the National Black Caucus of Elected Officials, Chapel Hill- Carrboro branch of the NAACP, and as a member of numerous Town and County Committees: and

WHEREAS, Bill has contributed to the character of Chapel Hill in countless ways, including through his work to make Chapel Hill one of the first Southern municipalities to officially recognize Martin Luther King Jr. Day and working to rename Airport Road after his idol Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.; and

WHEREAS, Bill served the community and the Council through his active participation on numemus committees and work groups, often mixing humor and bluntness to communicate in complicated situations; and

WHEREAS, Bill's entertaining sense of humor, fun-loving spirit, principled policy positions, respect and understanding of history, and willingness to speak his mind openly, has been invaluable to the Council. His fellow Council Members, along with citizens and Town employees will miss Bill.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Mayor and Council of the Town of Chapel Hill that we hereby honor

Bill Thorpe

for his outstanding service to the people of Chapel Hill and his willingness to serve the community as an elected leader; and we further resolve that Chapel Hill is a better place because of Bill Thorpe.

Matt Czaikowski, Camcil Member

This the 3rd day of October, 2008.

Ward, Mayor Pro Tem

Greene, Council Member

Ed Harrison, Council Member

Mark Kleinschmidt, Council Member

Laurin Easthom, Council Member