ATTACHMENT #1

 

July 24, 2007

Chapel Hill Wayfinding (a working document)

 

Definition of Wayfinding

“The Strategies that people use to find their way in familiar or new settings, based on their perceptual and cognitive abilities and habits.”[1]

 

“Wayfinding encompasses all of the ways in which people orient themselves in physical space and navigate from place to place”[2]

 

Potential Components of a Wayfinding Plan

 

Community Benefits to Improved Signs

 

Economic Benefits to Improved Signs

 

Role or Purpose of the Wayfinding Task Force

The purpose of the Chapel Hill Downtown Partnership Wayfinding Task Force is to develop a collaborative, comprehensive directional plan that will shepherd visitors to our town and University attractions in an effort to improve the visitor experience.   Highway signage, route markers, gateway identification, parking locators, district kiosks, and attraction identification will all be considered as a part of this plan.

 

Representatives on the Task Force

 

Name

Title

Organization

Phone

Email

Linda Convissor

Director of Local Relations

UNC – Office of University Relations

(919) 962-9245

Linda_Convissor@unc.edu

 

Rick Steinbacher

Assoc. Athletic Dir. - Marketing & Prom

UNC Athletics

(919) 962-6000

rsteinbacher@uncaa.unc.edu

 

Michael Johnson

 

UNC Carolina Performing Arts

(919)

michaelj@email.unc.edu

 

Jill Coleman

Landscape Architect

UNC facilities Planning

(919) 843-3246

JColeman@FAC.UNC.EDU

Jeff Hill

Director of Marketing

UNC Morehead Planetarium

843-7995

jeff_hill@unc.edu

Karen Kornegay

PR Manager

UNC Morehead Planetarium

(919) 843-7952

kck@unc.edu

 

Sandy Roberts

Information & Communication Spec II

UNC Visitors Center

(919) 962-1993

Sandy_Roberts@unc.edu

 

Gary Hampton

 

UNC Hospitals Plant Engineering

(919) 966-5211

ghampton@unch.unc.edu

 

Laurie Paolicelli

Executive Director

Chapel Hill Orange County Visitors Center

(919) 968-2064

lpaolicelli@chocvb.org

 

Aaron Nelson

President & CEO

Chapel Hill Carrboro Chamber of Commerce

(919) 967-7075 X 23

anelson@carolinachamber.org

 

Kumar Neppalli

Transportation Engineer

Town of Chapel Hill

(919) 969-5093

kneppalli@townofchapelhill.org

 

Catherine Lazorko

Information Officer

Town of Chapel Hill

(919) 969-5055

clazorko@townofchapelhill.org

 

Mark Aldridge

Orange Count Representative

NCDOT

 

maldridge@dot.state.nc.us

 

Liz Parham

Executive Director

Chapel Hill Downtown Partnership

(919) 967-9440

liz@downtownchapelhill.com

 

 

 

 



[1] Wayfinding:  People, Signs & Architecture  by Romedi Passini

[2] Wikipedia - Wayfinding