To strengthen and promote cities as centers of opportunity, leadership, and governance.



National League of Cities

2007 Officers

President

Bart Peterson

Mayor
Indianapolis, Indiana

First Vice President Cynthia McCollum Council Member Madison, Alabama

Second Vice President Kathleen Novak

Mayor Northglenn, Colorado

Immediate Past President James C. Hunt Councilmember Clarksburg, West Virginia

Executive Director
Donald J. Borut



ATTACHMENT 1

September 28, 2007

MEMORANDUM

TO: Direct Member Cities

FROM: Donald J. Borut, Executive Director

SUBJECT: Congress of Cities Voting Delegates

The National League of Cities Annual Business Meeting will be held on Saturday, November 17, 2007, at the conclusion of the Congress of Cities and Exposition in New Orleans. As a direct member city, your city is entitled to vote at this meeting. Based on population, each member city casts between one and twenty votes. The number of votes for each population range can be found on the table on the reverse of this memorandum.

To be eligible to cast a city's vote, a voting delegate and alternate must be officially designated by the city using the enclosed credentials form. This form will be forwarded to NLC's Credentials Committee. NLC bylaws expressly prohibit voting by proxy. City elected officials should be made aware of this request so that decisions can be made as to who will be the voting delegate and alternate(s).

At the Congress of Cities, the voting delegate must pick up the city's voting card at the credentials booth before the Annual Business Meeting and must be present at the Annual Business Meeting to cast the city's vote. Alternates should also visit the credentials booth before the meeting to pick up their stickers which identify them as alternate voting delegates. The credentials booth will be open throughout the Congress of Cities.

Please return the completed form to NLC by fax at 202-626-3043 on or before October 31,2007, and keep the original for your own files. If you have any questions or concerns, contact Ken Rosenfeld, NLC policy manager, at rosenfeld@nlc.org or 202-626-3027.

Thank you.

Past Presidents: Clarence E Anthony. Mayor, South Bay. Florida John DeStefano, Jr. Mayor, New Haven. Connecticut Brian J. O'Neill. Councilman. PhiladelphiaPennsylvania Directors: R Michael Amyx. ExecutiveDirector, VirginiaMunicipaLeague Susan Burgess. Mayor Po Tem. Charlotte. North Carolina Thomas Carlson. Mayor, Springfield. Missouri. Susan Cave. Executive Director/Ohio Municipal League Deborah Denard Delgado. Councilwoman. Haltlesburg. Mississippi Joseph Donaldson. Mayor. Flagstaff. Arizona Pat Eklund. CouncilMember. Novato. California Ted Ellis. Mayor. Bluffton, Indiana Makia Epie. CouncilMember. Cedar Hill. Texas Margaret Finlay, Councilmember. Duarte. California Rene Flowers. Councilmember. St. Petersburg. Florida John Franklin. Councilmember. Norfolk, Virginia Charles Hughes, Councilman-At-Large@ay. Indiana Steven Jeffrey. Executive Director. Vermont League of Cities and Towns Michael E. Johnson. Council Member. Proenix. Arizona Martin Jones. Council Member, Conyers, Georgia Jennifer L Kim. Council Member. Austin, Texas Daisy W. Lynum. Commissioner/Otando. Florida Margaret Mahery. Executive Director. Tennessee Municipal League Cynthia Margini. Councilman-At-large@infield. Connecticut Marcia Marcoux. Councilmember. Rochester, Minnesota Henry Manana. J. Councilman. Gaithersburg. Maryland TomEd McHugh. Executive Director, LouisianaMunicipal Association Darryl Moss. Mayor. Creedmoor. North Carolina James Perkins. Jr. Mayor. Selma. Alabama Daniel Pocek. Mayor. Bedford. Ohio Richard Radcliffe, Councilman, Greenacres. Florida Lynn Rex. Executive Director, League of Nebraska Municipalities Julie Aberg Robison, CouncilMember. Lorenina Shirtley Scott CouncilMember. Tucson, Arizona Anne Sinclair. Council Member. Columbia South Carolina Walter Skowron. Council Member. Loveland. Colorado Connie Sprynczynatyk, Executive Director/North Dakota League of Cities Ken Strobeck, Executive Director League of Arizona Cities and Towns Lynne Whalen. CouncilMoman, Capper. Wyoming Dennis Zine. Councilman. Sangeles. Callionnia