SUMMARY MINUTES OF A BUSINESS MEETING OF THE CHAPEL HILL TOWN COUNCIL MONDAY, DECEMBER 6, 2004, AT 7:00 P.M.

- 3a. Petitions by Citizens on Items not on the Agenda.
- 3a(7). Julie McClintock, regarding Changing the Membership of the Stormwater Management Utility Advisory Board.

Ms. McClintock petitioned the Council to consider, when they make appointments to the Stormwater Management Utility Advisory Board, that the majority of the membership be residential property owners.

COUNCIL MEMBER VERKERK MOVED, SECONDED BY COUNCIL MEMBER STROM, TO REFER DISCUSSION OF THIS ITEM TO AGENDA ITEM #17. THE MOTION WAS ADOPTED UNANIMOUSLY (9-0).

Item 17 - Appointments

Agenda #4L: Modifications of Eligibility Requirements for Service on the Stormwater Management Utility Advisory Board.

Mayor Foy indicated that Consent Agenda Item #4L would make a modification to this Board regarding eligibility. He noted that Milton Heath, who had been appointed to this Board in the seat reserved for a University employee, had indicated he did not wish to serve in that capacity.

Council Member Strom suggested that the membership be modified as follows: 6 residential property owners, 4 business owners, and 1 UNC representative. He said this keeps an odd number on the Board and gives the Council more flexibility in making appointments.

Mayor Foy asked UNC representative Linda Convissor if Margaret Holton was the University's choice to fill the UNC seat. Ms. Convissor responded yes.

COUNCIL MEMBER WARD MOVED, SECONDED BY COUNCIL MEMBER STROM, TO ENACT O-5, AS AMENDED TO MODIFY THE MEMBERSHIP TO SIX RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY OWNERS, FOUR BUSINESS OWNERS, AND ONE UNIVERSITY REPRESENTATIVE, SECONDED BY COUNCIL MEMBER STROM. THE MOTION WAS ENACTED UNANIMOUSLY (9-0).

AN ORDINANCE AMENDING SECTION 23.12 OF THE TOWN CODE REGARDING ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR APPLICANTS WISHING TO SERVE ON THE TOWN STORMWATER MANAGEMENT UTILITY ADVISORY BOARD (2004-12-06/O-5)

BE IT ORDAINED by the Council of the Town of Chapel Hill as follows:

Section 1. Section 23-12 of the Town Code is hereby revised to read as follows:

"Sec. 23.12. Membership Qualifications and Terms.

The Stormwater Management Utility Advisory Board shall consist of <u>eleven (11)</u> members appointed by the Town Council. All-appointees shall reside within the corporate limits of the Town of Chapel Hill during their terms of service. Board representation shall include <u>slx</u> members who are <u>single-family residential property</u> owners of <u>single-family residential property</u> within Chapel Hill, four members who are owners or employees of companies owning property within Chapel Hill used for multi-family, business, commercial, or non-profit purposes, and one member employed by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

The terms of board members shall be a maximum of three (3) years. The terms of the original members may be staggered so that all terms do not expire simultaneously. Vacancies shall be filled only for the remainder of the unexpired term of the vacant position. Members of the Board shall demonstrate interest in support for the efficiency, effectiveness, goals and mission of the Town's Stormwater Management Program. Board members shall serve without compensation, but may be reimbursed for actual expenses incidental to the performance of their duties within the limit of funds available to the Board and identified by the Town Council for such purposes.

Section 2. This Ordinance is effective upon enactment.

This the 6th day of December, 2004.

17a. Stormwater Management Utility Advisory Board.

The Council appointed: Philip Berke, Milton Heath, Patricia Hughes, and Suzanne Lea in the Residential Property Owner category; Margaret Holton as the UNC Representative; and Philip Post and Warren Mitchell in the Business Employee or Owner category.